Openers KL Rahul & Vijay dropped for the 3rd test, Mayank Agarwal & Jadeja to replace them


The third test of the India tour of Australia will be played from December 26. The boxing day test match will  be played at Melbourne Cricket Ground. Till now the series is level with one wins for both the sides. In the first test India had a mouth watering win which was only due to the middle order which once again proved to be a good comparision.

In the second test, India had to face the loss as the Aussie bowlers restrict the Indian batsman and not allowing them to chase. The top order batsman of the Indian team failed twice in the series. Rahul and Vijay had scored 97 runs between themselves in the two Tests with Rahul recording individual scores of 2, 44, 2 and 0, while Vijay had notched 11, 18, 0 and 20.

KL Rahul and Murli Vijay has been dropped from the 3rd test keeping in mind their successive failures. Mayank Agarwal who had a good domestic career in the past few months will be debuting at Melbourne. Also, Ravindra Jadega has been called for the third test. Ravindra Jadeja will be a spin option for R Ashwin who is struggling with an injury will not be playing the next test. The Indian openers have consistently failed to prove themselves, it is only the middle order batsman who is saving India to come up with the failed top order. Rohit Sharma is completely fit and back after the injury, according to medical souces.

We will have to wait and see who takes over the Boxing Day test and take a lead in the 4 match test series. Both the teams are focusing to win with their best as the arch rivals will be again facing each other tomorrow. The squads have been released by the official twitter handles of the respective teams.

India playing XI: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia playing XI: Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khwaja, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (w/c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc,Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazelwood.

- For Advertisement contact on +91-7276810640-


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here